Logic Has Nothing To Do With It

by Joshua Hoe

I can’t take it anymore.

Everywhere you turn there are more self-appointed television addiction “experts” and they all have different versions of the same shaming technique when it comes to discussing addicts (they never really come on to talk about addicts – they come on to gain traction by piling on).

What is that shaming technique, some version of the following statement:

“How could anyone be that stupid.”

As if addictive behavior was governed by logic.

If addictive behaviors were governed by logic – simple rationality would get everyone sober.

Emotional And Compulsive Not Logical

As I have mentioned many times before, and have seen many experts admit, we don’t really know how people find recovery.

We do know that it is a process rarely governed by logic.

I know it wasn’t a logical process for me.

When I confronted triggering events a process was set into motion in my brain that is close to automatic.

So automatic that no matter how badly I wanted NOT to act out, I often found myself acting out.

Sometimes it was almost more devastating for me to come to grips with how I could act out even when I really deeply did not want to act out then it was to handle the actual relapse.

Addictive behavior is often called a disease by some for this exact same reason. It is often beyond the ability to apply “self-control.”

To expose more of this brand of addiction “treatment”

* Going to a rehab facility does not mean an addict is cured
* Relapse does not mean that the addict is doing it on purpose
* Relapse is not to spite the sober
* Relapse is not self-destructive behavior, at least not in the way most commentators assume.

Mostly, I just wish people on TV would stop judging addicts.

Judging their immoral or illegal actions, okay, the addiction, not okay.

What are your thoughts about shaming addicts using logic as a weapon? Have you experienced this first hand? Share your stories, I would love to hear your comments!

5 thoughts on “Logic Has Nothing To Do With It

  1. I’m less concerned with how “experts” see me. What I am concerned about iswhat I do about it There are many tools out there to take advantage of if I can find one that helps me I use it to advantage my sobriety.

    Like

    1. Justin,

      Thanks for the response, in general I agree with you.

      As someone writing a recovery blog, what I am often trying to do is provide a counter-narrative for people who have not yet found recovery (or people who are struggling in recovery). A story aside from the one they hear from the shame and guilt and “tough love” crowd on television.

      In my own recovery, I just use the tools that work for me (many of those I write about here as well).

      Anyway, probably more than you needed to know, hope you looked around and enjoyed the blog, and thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. I think I agree with respect to reaching those who are curious about or seeking recovery. Shaming us doesn’t get anyone anywhere. For those of us working our program, we hopefully know that “labels” don’t define us. They are the beginning of the process, in my book. Not the end result. Logic has nothing to do with how I used to behave. I wished to do one thing, while doing something different. Logic also had little to do with changing that thinking. A spiritual experience and the pursuit of deeper understanding of myself is what kept and keeps me sober and motivated.

    Like

    1. I am very against shaming as a treatment method (way too common). Shaming is one of the biggest triggers and is usually deeply involved/intertwined in the origin story for myself and most of the addicts I have met.

      Like

Leave a Reply

