Recovery Is Not Magic (It’s A Process)

The so-called “Talking Heads” on television always act surprised and even offended whenever a prominent celebrity relapses. These “addiction commentators” make rehab and recovery sound like an almost magical process that immediately “cures” people. Usually, they conclude with a statement how sad it is that the particular celebrity struggling with addiction can’t “get it together” and make the best of his or her “second chance.”

Nonsense.

Recovery is not magic, it is a process. Often it is a really hard life-long process.

And, most important, relapse is often a part of recovery. It takes time and consistent effort to build an effective program of recovery.

It takes daily maintenance to continue your progress in a program of recovery. addictive impulses are compulsive and constantly challenging.

Addictive impulses are compulsive and constantly challenging. I found recovery 6.6 years ago and I still feel temptation every single day and it took me over 20 years for me to find recovery.

I found recovery 6.6 years ago and I still feel temptation every single day and it took me over 20 years for me to find recovery. I had to learn (the hard way) how to cope and respond more appropriately to my own triggers and it can still be challenging to make phone calls and work my program at critical moments.

There is a HUGE difference between relapsing and doing something terrible when you relapse. We are all responsible for the things that we do when we act out and we should all commit to first causing no harm.

First, try to do no harm and continue to aim for progress, not perfection.

writing-your-own-best-story-addiction-and-living-hope

Writing Your Own Best Story: Addiction & Living Hope is available on Amazon.com for only $2.99

5 Stars “He offers it all up, and in doing so, he lets me walk for a minute through his experience. And because it is such a human story, I can relate.” 

2 thoughts on “Recovery Is Not Magic (It’s A Process)

Leave a Reply

